2022 Federal Election

Federal Election 2022: Division of Eden-Monaro

Nestled in the southeast corner of New South Wales lies the “bellwether” electorate of Eden-Monaro.

Map of the federal electoral division of Eden-Monaro.
Source: Australian Electoral Commission (AEC)

The term “bellwether” refers to electorates that are consistently won by the party that wins the election; Eden-Monaro held this title for over 4 decades before losing it in 2016.

The division of Eden-Monaro covers 41,617 square kilometres of southern New South Wales and surrounds the Australian Capital Territory.

The division covers: Yass Valley, Queanbeyan, Palerang, Cooma-Monaro, Eurobodalla, Bega Valley, Bombala, Snowy River, Tumbarumba, and Tumut.

Eden-Monaro is currently held by Labor MP Kristy McBain by a margin of 0.9%. She is standing for re-election on Saturday.

Ms McBain has held the federal seat of Eden-Monaro since the 2020 by-election which was triggered by the resignation of then Labor MP Dr Mike Kelly AM.

A lawyer by trade, Ms McBain served as a councillor on the Bega Valley Shire Council from 2012 to 2020, and was Mayor of the Bega Valley Shire from 2016 to 2020.

The contenders

James Holgate (Sustainable Australia Party)

Born in Cooma, James Holgate now lives in Queanbeyan and works as a recruitment consultant. He previously ran for Eden-Monaro as an independent in the 2020 by-election.

Maxwell Holmes (Liberal Democrats)

Maxwell Holmes works in the digital health industry, he moved to New South Wales from rural Queensland in his twenties and now lives in Yass.

Greg Butler (Australian Democrats)

Greg Butler is a professional engineer with over two decades of experience in the railway industry. He is a foundation member of the Australian Democrats and has previously sat as a councillor on the Yass Valley Council and Wingecarribee Shire Council.

Darren Garnon (United Australia Party)

Darren Garnon is the founder and CEO of Queanbeyan based LubeAlloy Specialised Lubricants.

Jerry Nockles (Liberal Party)

Dr Jerry Nockles is a 24-year veteran of the Royal Australian Navy and has a doctorate in political science and international relations. After his career in the navy, Dr Nockles worked for UNICEF Australia, World Vision Australia, and currently works with the Pharmacy Guild of Australia.

Vivian Harris (The Greens)

Vivian Harris is a climate activist who has lived in the Macleay Valley for 15 years. She taught K-6 for 13 years in the New South Wales education system and has qualifications in veterinary science, education, and environmental science.

Toni McLennan (Informed Medical Options Party)

Toni McLennan is a small business owner, former public servant, and former member/president of the Labor Party’s Queanbeyan branch.

Andrew Thaler (Independent)

Andrew Thaler owns the Singleton, Nimmitabel, and Superdome Solar Array solar farms. Mr Thaler has previously run for Eden-Monaro as an independent in 2013 and 2016. He also contested the seat of Monaro in the 2019 New South Wales state election.

Boyd Shannon (One Nation)

No information is readily available about Boyd Shannon except that they contested the seat of Maiwar in the 2020 Queensland State Election.